Waiting Room & Meeting Passwords

Starting August 6th, 2020, all newly created Zoom meetings must have either the Waiting Room feature or meeting passwords enabled. On September 27th, Zoom will apply a waiting room to all existing meetings that do have have a passcode or waiting room already set. Just like it sounds, the Waiting Room is a virtual staging area that stops your external guests from joining until you’re ready for them. By default, any UM System Zoom user will automatically bypass the Waiting Room and be entered into the meeting. While anyone else will be placed in the Waiting Room and need to be allowed into the meeting by the host/co-host.

Meeting hosts can customize Waiting Room settings for additional control, and you can even personalize the message people see when they hit the Waiting Room so they know they’re in the right spot. This message is a good spot to post any rules/guidelines for your event, like who it’s intended for. The Waiting Room is a great way to screen who’s trying to enter your event and keep unwanted guests out.

Waiting Room & Password Settings Overview:


In-Meeting Security

While in a meeting, hosts have easy access to the Security icon in the Zoom tool bar to manage how participants can interact and share in the meeting:


Manage your participants

Use these features to secure your Zoom event and host with confidence:

  • Lock the meeting: When you lock a Zoom Meeting that’s already started, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password (if you have required one). In the meeting, click Participantsat the bottom of your Zoom window. In the Participants pop-up, then click Lock Meeting.
  • Remove unwanted or disruptive participants: From the Participants menu, you can mouse over a participant’s name, and several options will appear, including Remove.
  • Allow removed participants to rejoin: When you do remove someone, they can’t rejoin the meeting using the same email address. But you can change your settings to allow removed participants to rejoin, in case you removed the wrong person.
  • Prevent participants from screen sharing: In the host controls, click the arrownext to Share Screen and click Advanced Sharing Options. Under Who can share? choose Only Host and close the window.
  • Put them on hold: If you need a private moment, you can put everyone else on hold, and the attendees’ video and audio connections will be disabled momentarily. Click on someone’s video thumbnail and select Start Attendee On Hold to activate this feature. Click Take Off Hold in the Participants list when you’re ready to have them back.
  • Disable video: Hosts can turn someone’s video off. This will allow hosts to block unwanted, distracting, or inappropriate gestures on video.
  • Mute participants: Hosts can mute/unmute individual participants or all of them at once. Hosts can block unwanted, distracting, or inappropriate noise from other participants. You can also enable Mute Upon Entry in your settings to keep the clamor at bay in large meetings.
  • Turn off file transfer: In-meeting file transfer allows people to share files through the in-meeting chat. Toggle this off to keep the chat from getting bombarded with unsolicited pics, GIFs, memes, and other content.
  • Turn off annotation: You and your attendees can doodle and mark up content together using annotations during screen share. You can disable the annotation feature in your Zoom settings to prevent people from writing all over the screens.
  • Disable private chat: Zoom has in-meeting chat for everyone or participants can message each other privately. Restrict participants’ ability to chat amongst one another while your event is going on and cut back on distractions. This is really to prevent anyone from getting unwanted messages during the meeting.

Modified on: Wed, Aug 5, 2020 at 12:18 PM

Did you find it helpful? Yes No