Recording a Zoom meeting

Only hosts and co-hosts can start a cloud recording. If you want a participant to start a recording, you can make them a co-host or use local recording. Recordings started by co-hosts will still appear in the host's recordings in the Zoom web portal.

Zoom recordings are stored in the cloud for 45 days. Zoom meetings will be stored in Panopto.

To record a meeting to the cloud

Note: Most zoom cloud recordings are now automatically stored in Panopto and deleted from Zoom immediately upon processing.

Note: For recording on mobile, see Recording on iOS and Android.
You can record the meeting in different recording layouts including active speaker, gallery view and shared screen.

  1. Start a meeting as the host.
  2. Click the Record button in the Zoom toolbar.
  3. Select Record to the Cloud to begin recording (See Fig. 1).
    zoom recording menu
    Figure 1: recording to the cloud
  4. To stop recording, click Pause/Stop Recording or End Meeting (see Fig. 2).
    zoom recording menu
    Figure 2: pause/stop recording
  5. Once the recording has been stopped, the recording must be processed before viewing. Zoom will send an email to the host's email address when the process is completed.

Manage your cloud recordings

UM System Remote Learning Video Policies

UM System Remote Learning Video Policies have been put in place to assist instructors in holding classes in an online environment. These policies include information about FERPA, misconduct, accommodations and other topics.

Important Zoom settings

  • Delete recordings if you don’t need them.
    To make sure we have plenty of storage, please review your Zoom recordings and delete the ones you no longer need. All of these settings can be found in your Zoom app under the Zoom.us menu.
  • Automatic recording caution:
     When both the “Automatically record meeting” and “Enable join before host” settings are selected for a Zoom meeting, it creates a situation where meeting participants are being recorded without the host present, which should be avoided.

Instead of these settings, please consider doing the following:
Do not select Automatically record meeting unless you really need to.
Do not select Enable join before host unless necessary.

  • New recording notification:
    All users are now notified that their meeting is being recorded and that by continuing in the meeting, they are consenting to the recording (See Fig. 3).
    the meeting is being recorded pop up window
    Figure 3: Zoom recording consent




Modified on Modified on: Wed, Mar 9, 2022 at 11:49 AM

Did you find it helpful?

Can't find the information you need?

Help us improve the site.