Zoom update: webinar registration setting
Zoom is updating their webinar registration settings to increase the security of webinars by preventing unauthorized users from gaining access.
With this update, by default, when an attendee registers for an event, the join link will no longer be displayed on the confirmation page of their web browser. Instead, the attendee will find the join link in the email confirmation, which will be sent to them as usual.
The enhanced design will let you decide whether a user can join your events that are already in progress, or about to start. Selecting this option displays the join info on the confirmation page if a user registers less than 5 min before the start of the meeting, or if the meeting is already in progress. Please note that enabling this option creates some risk by allowing users to join the session using any email and without email verification.
Meeting hosts will see this new option in the Registration Settings dialog when they schedule a meeting as seen in the image below. The new registration experience will be enabled starting on October 17, 2022.
Once enabled, by default, registrants will no longer see join information (link, meeting password, etc.) on the registration confirmation page and will be asked to refer to their confirmation emails for how to join your meeting or webinar as seen in the image below.
For more information on how to manage registrants and turn on the new registration experience, please check out zoom’s help articles.